Feline Conservation Federation

North Dakota

North Dakota Regulations on Wild and Exotic Felines

Board of Animal Health
Department of Agriculture
600 E Boulevard Ave. Dept 602
Bismarck, ND 58505

State Website: http://www.nd.gov/
Department Website: http://www.nd.gov/ndda/ 

Short Summary: Requires a license for private ownership of nontraditional livestock, i.e.: all wild animals in captivity. Cougar, jaguar, leopard, lion, tiger and cheetah and their hybrids are category 3 (Inherently dangerous) animals, and all other felines are Category 2 (health or environmental risk). Before any category 2 or 3 animals can be imported into the state, an importation permit must be issued.
Nontraditional livestock permitees must provide a description and sketch or map of the facility, have a holding and quarantine facility or access to a quarantine facility.  Category 3 has special housing, handling and health requirements. Permitees must keep records of sales, purchases, escapes, captures, diseases or animal transfers or births. Record keeping must be available for inspection.

Auctions of nontraditional livestock require a Nontraditional Livestock Auction Permit and certificates of veterinary inspection.  A vet must be on the premises.  Category 3 buyers must have a license before bidding, and Category 2 buyers have 10 days after purchase to apply for a license.