Feline Conservation Federation


Hawaii Regulations on Wild and Exotic Felines

Department of Agriculture
701 Iialo St.
Honolulu, HI 96813

State Web Site: https://portal.ehawaii.gov/
Department Website: http://hdoa.hawaii.gov/ 

Short Summary: No private ownership allowed.  Animals are classified into four categories.  Caracals, cheetahs, clouded leopards, cougars, jaguars, leopards, lions, margays, ocelots, servals, and tigers are listed in Restricted Species Part A and are limited to research, exhibition, and scientific and medical purposes.  Feline hybrids are declared prohibited and are completely banned.  All other felines are unlisted and may be considered for filming, shows, and exhibition for up to 90 days or for scientific research with site inspection and approval. 

In 2010, Hawaii increased the fine for prohibited or restricted animal permit violations to $50,000 and a maximum of $200, 000.